2016 © South East Region

Made With Serif WebPlus. Surrey | Kent  | Sussex  | Contact Us

“Congratulations to Janet Huggins on her well deserved award of a Gold medal from British fencing. Janet was awarded a BFA Gold Medal for Services to Fencing at the BFA AGM last Saturday.” - Keith Silk

News & Announcements

Gold for Janet

Extract from BF website 4th January 2016

"Year Starts with Honour for Chichester’s Sharon Blackman

The Olympic year of 2016 began with the great news that Sharon Blackman was awarded with the Medal of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen’s New Year’s Honour List. Blackman, Head Coach at Chichester Fencing Club, was recognised for her services to fencing.

Speaking about the award, Sharon said; “I was really surprised but what a nice surprise to have. I have known since November so I’ve had to keep the news quiet. I’m very pleased and very proud. The letter was very formal, it came in a bit of a scary envelope from the Cabinet Office, so when I opened it my first feeling was one of relief.”

Sharon, who took over the club fifteen years ago, added; “The club is about forty years old. It was handed to me by the founder who it meant an awful lot to and it means an awful lot to me to try to continue what he started. The club covers a real mixture of people, we have had five members placed on the Olympic Pathway and had a Commonwealth gold medalist. But we also have youngsters who have found it tough to fit in, who don’t want to play football or other sports and come to fencing and enjoy how individualistic it is.”

British Fencing congratulates Sharon for her hard work and dedication to our sport and for this most prestigious recognition of her efforts."

Honour for Sharon Blackman

Chairman: Jamie Miller

Vice-Chairman: Marc Chapman

Hon. Secretary: Meg Shepherd-Foster

Hon. Treasurer: Tim Schofield

Winton Captain: Phil Shepherd-Foster

Cadet Winton Captain: Laurence Peplow

Welfare: Dom Pitman

Social Media & Webmaster: Meg Shepherd-Foster
Sussex Reps: Sharon Blackman & Dom Pitman

Kent Reps: Jane Clayton & Peter Huggins

Surrey Reps: Ian de Whalley & Emmanuel Therond

2016-17 South East Committee Announced

Report from Jane Clayton

The 8th Veterans Winton cup was held at the Lilleshall National Sports centre over the weekend of 24th/25th September 2016.

For the first time 10 teams were entered and this meant a very full weekend of fencing in all weapons.

The South West have dominated the event since the start and although the South East have come close, only losing by 1 hit last year, we had to pull out our very best team this year to stand a chance as the standard of fencing is getting higher every year.

By the end of Saturday we had already beaten 2 regions and had recorded good results against many others. We had the South West to fence on the Sunday and it came down to the 2 foil events. We needed 6 victories and our brilliant Mens foil team did the job meaning that we had beaten the South West without needing the 5 extra victories that the Womens foil gained.  

A special mention for Nicola Hull in the Womens Epee team who was undefeated all weekend.

The South East were undefeated with 9 victories over the other regions and recorded a total of 343 individual victories.

South East Team

Mens Foil:   Paul Lowen, Mike Thomas, Nick Fihosy, Corsini King

Womens Foil:  Jane Clayton, Kate O Connell, Gillian Worman, Helen Easter, Kate Morwell Neave.

Mens Epee:  Will Miller, John Hyde, Simon Pink, Kola Awanyale.

Womens Epee:  Nicola Hull, Marj Onjye, Mariette Mason, Kathy Evans,

Mens Sabre:  Emmanuel Therond, Ian de Whalley, Paul Baillache, Barry Coulter,

Womens Sabre:  Jacqui Esjame-Heath, Grace Coulter, Dominique Kennett, Joanne Yeates.

Special mention to our team scorekeeper Alan Ault.  

Victory for the Veteran’s South East Team

Hub Week  Dates

The Chairman, Secretary and both Winton Captains are stepping down this year and we also need a new Welfare Officer. The new committee will be elected at the AGM on the 14th October after the Sabre event - Agenda here.

AGM Date Set & Agenda released

A new committee was elected in October - this site will be updated soon